Neltjeberg Bay Enterprises LLC.

48th Annual Small Fry International Basketball Tournament​

V.I. Jaguars win the 2016 Small Fry tournament on St. Croix

Front Row (left to right):  Tazhaun Donadelle, Jah'fari Samuel, Mackai Smith, Nekwante Sprauve, Rekai Pinney, Devante                                                               Callwood, Anthony Joseph, Khamani Olivacce.

Back Row (left to right): Coach Fred Kopko, De'Shamoi Greaves, Willis Pinney, Keith Gruel(EM), Roberto Tapia, Nykebo                                                                Warner, Jahkeem Sackey, Coach Wayne Harvey.

2016 Puerto Rico Invitational

2016 Small Fry Paradise Showdown March 18 - 20, 2016 

The V.I. Jaguars won the 2016 Small Fry Tournament Sunday on St. Croix. The tournament was held at the St. Croix's Central High School. The Jaguars went 3-0 in the tournament, topping Omega, 32-22, and then beat the Positive Guidance Team, 35-15.

In the finals rematch, the Jaguars topped their St. Croix rivals, 30-17. The tournament's MVP Jah'Fari Samuel scored twenty points. Also for the Jaguars, De'shamoi Greaves had six rebounds in the finals. Khamani Olivacee and Nekwante Sprauve had four assists Sprauve had blocked shots. Willis Pinney led the team with four steals and six points.

The 2016 V.I. Jaguars Basketball Team


The Paradise Showdown's defending champs, Chicago’s Marquette Best, once again took First Place, remaining undefeated throughout the tournament held this weekend at the Ivanna Eudora Kean High School.  The V.I. Jaguars took second place. Other participating teams included the Positive Guidance Basketball Team, the Toa Baja Basketball Team, Caguas Libac Basketball Team, and CIAPR  Basketball Team.   

The V.I. Jaguars charged the boards and applied a staunch defense to Puerto Rico's highest ranked team, Toa Baja.  Forced turnovers and hot three-point shootings by Chicago's Best contributed to their victory over the V.I. Jaguars. The Chicago team was led by Nick Owens' who took command of the floor, assists, and scoring.  He was named the tournament's MVP for his outstanding performance.  

The V.I. Jaguars had a resilient effort from Jah'Fari Samuel and DeShamoi Greaves in both scoring and rebounding. Other teammates, K'hamani Olivacce and Nekwante Sprauve, broke down opposing defenses with their robust passing and penetration to aid in the Jaguars gaining second place. 

The V.I. Jaguars placed third in the 2016 Small Fry Puerto Rico Invitational. In game 1 against Torrimar, the Jaguars won 45-40.  De'Shamoi Greaves was the lead scorer with 16 points, 4 steals, and 2 assists. Jafari Samuel added 12 points and 3 steals.   

In the second game, the Jaguars defeated CIAPR 22-11, with 9 players scoring to work the victory on teamwork. The Jaguars lost to ABB Bayamon 50-17. After taking second place in pool play, the Jaguars went on to defeat Bucaplaa 40-35 in overtime.  Jafari Samuel led the team with 13 points and 5 rebounds. De'Shamoi Greaves contributed 7 rebounds and 8 points. 

In Game 13 of the tournament, the VI Jaguars defeated Columbia with the score 58-26. Eleven different scorers keyed the effort for the Jaguars, including double-digit leaders De'Shamoi Greaves (15 points), Jah’Fari Samuel (10 points), and Devante Callwood (10 points). Michael Ramirez tallied 10 points to lead Columbia. 

In Game 19 of the tournament, the Jaguars Basketball Team defeated Bayamon B team, 52-33. The Jaguars secured down to allow just eight second half points. They were led by De'Shamoi Greaves with an outstanding 27 points and Khamani Olivacee with 11 points. To spark Bayamon B, Marcos Otero tallied 10 points and Paola Perez 9 points.

Unfortunately, Florida defeated the VI Jaguars, 58-46, in Game 3. Florida vaulted to a 34-14 halftime command and coasted behind 16 points from Joshy Blazquez and 10 markers by Sebastian Orama. Jah'Fari Samuel tallied 14 points and De'Shamoi Greaves added 11 points for the VI Jaguars.

The VI Jaguars bounced back from their loss and defeated the Avalon Runners, 60-36, in Game 7. The VI Jaguars limited the Runners to 12 fourth-quarter points and had three double-digit scorers in De'Shamoi Greaves (21), Jah'Fari Samuel (14), and Khamani Olivacee (10). The Runners got 12 points from Jherrone Jones and 11 points from Toryn Parks-Bay.

NBE supports the V.I. Jaguars Basketball Team. Small Fry Basketball is a developmental and extremely competitive basketball program, which provides participants with the opportunity to develop basketball skills, travel and have fun. The Small Fry Basketball Association consists of teams from the United States and the Caribbean. All team and player expenses are paid by NBE. Expenses Include travel, league fees, uniforms, and equipment.

The V.I. Jaguars Basketball Team competed in the 48th Annual Small Fry International Basketball Tournament. Held at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando, Florida.  

NBE and Caribbean Rose would like to congratulate two V.I. Jaguars players: Anthony Joseph and Jah'Fari Samuel. Anthony Joseph came in second place in the three-point shooting contest. Jah'Fari Samuel came in second place in the free-throw shooting contest.